Uncategorized

#PublishPath – Step Three: Create your rough list

March 16, 2020 admin 0Comment

Last week I asked you to take a serious look at your finished story, and determine what type of story it is. This week I'm going to give you my stats:

Genre (If Any) : Literary / Horror

Word Count: 6000

General Audience: Adult Fiction Readers with strong stomachs

General Tone: Unsettling

So now that I know what stats I have, I can bring out the big guns, and start creating a rough list of all the places I want to start submitting the work.

Pictured: The Big Guns

I'm going to be submitting to literary magazines featured in the Writer's Market 2020, because I think it's a great resource and has a good support system for someone getting back into the publishing game.

I've gone through and earmarked any literary magazines that might be looking for a 6,000 word, unsettling, mostly horror short story. (Hence the festival of post-it notes spewing forth from the pages of the book.)

From this I've created a rough list of potential magazines that look like they might be a good fit for my work.

Here's my rough list.

Allegory - https://www.allegoryezine.com/

Antioch Review - http://review.antiochcollege.edu/antioch-review-home

Cloud Rodeo - https://www.cloudrodeojournal.com/

Colorado Review - https://coloradoreview.colostate.edu/

Crazyhorse - https://crazyhorse.cofc.edu/

Five Points - http://fivepoints.gsu.edu/

Fogged Clarity - http://foggedclarity.com/

The Fourth River - https://www.thefourthriver.com/

Harvard Review - https://www.harvardreview.org/submit/

Hotel Amerika - http://www.hotelamerika.net/

Hudson Review - https://hudsonreview.com/

Hunger Mountain - https://hungermtn.org/

Iconoclast - http://www.iconoclastliterarymagazine.com/

The Iowa Review - https://iowareview.org/

The Idaho Review - https://www.idahoreview.org/

The Kenyon Review - https://kenyonreview.org/

The Massachussetts Review - https://www.massreview.org/

The Missouri Review - https://www.missourireview.com/

New England Review - http://www.nereview.com/

The Ninth Letter - http://www.ninthletter.com/

One Story - https://www.one-story.com/

The Paris Review - https://www.theparisreview.org/

The Rag - http://raglitmag.com/

The Saranac Review - http://www.saranacreview.com/

Sequestrum - https://www.sequestrum.org/

The Strand Magazine - https://www.strandmag.com/

Tin House - https://tinhouse.com/

West Branch - https://westbranch.blogs.bucknell.edu/

Now some of these are a shot in the dark, and some of these are an excellent fit, but I don't know which ones are which yet. All this list does is give me an idea of what magazines might be a good fit for my work,

To narrow this list down, I'm going to find a way to read at least one month's worth of published content from each of them. This will give me a better idea of what types of stories they're accepting now, where they're headed in the future, and if they might be open to a spooky little story like mine.

I'll tell you how that worked out in next week's blog post.